TSTT Forum: Hmmm...help please... - TSTT Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1

Hmmm...help please... 'Locking' WiFi access

#1 User is offline   greall Icon

  • Telecom Master
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,433
  • Joined: 28-July 05
  • Location:Bel Air,La Romain

Posted 11 March 2011 - 06:31 PM

A friend of mines asked me this question:"How can I lock my WiFi isgnal so that I'm the only person to access it to stop freeloaders?"

I was suggesting that she just change the network password randomly but then that introduces instances of human error of forgetting.

So,is there any way that I can answer her question?

Gregory
0

#2 User is offline   admin Icon

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 817
  • Joined: 28-July 03

Posted 12 March 2011 - 10:07 AM

Encrypt the signal using WPA2 and in addition add MAC address security. Only users with a known MAC address would have access. This could mean that you have to use DD-WRT or OpenWRT, Tomato or so as not all routers might have that feature included.
0

#3 User is offline   greall Icon

  • Telecom Master
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,433
  • Joined: 28-July 05
  • Location:Bel Air,La Romain

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:05 PM

View Postadmin, on 12 March 2011 - 10:07 AM, said:

Encrypt the signal using WPA2 and in addition add MAC address security. Only users with a known MAC address would have access. This could mean that you have to use DD-WRT or OpenWRT, Tomato or so as not all routers might have that feature included.


Thanks...I'll pass it on...

Greg
0

#4 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 14 March 2011 - 04:56 PM

this is supported by the zhone wifi modems!
0

#5 User is offline   shivy Icon

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 21-September 06

Posted 17 March 2011 - 10:18 PM

You can also check to see if the modem supports hiding the SSID. Some devices allow you to configure them to not send their SSID in the Beacon, so that people searching for a Wifi connection will not see that AP.

View PostSkylined, on 14 March 2011 - 04:56 PM, said:

this is supported by the zhone wifi modems!

0

#6 User is offline   ninja_billy Icon

  • Forum Jedi
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 07-March 07
  • Location:Trinidad

Posted 18 March 2011 - 12:22 PM

honestly just using WPA2 is good enough don't try to confuse her with uncessary protocols such as mac restrictions and ssid cloacking which are pretty useless against a skript kiddy.
0

#7 User is offline   greall Icon

  • Telecom Master
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,433
  • Joined: 28-July 05
  • Location:Bel Air,La Romain

Posted 18 March 2011 - 07:41 PM

View Postninja_billy, on 18 March 2011 - 12:22 PM, said:

honestly just using WPA2 is good enough don't try to confuse her with uncessary protocols such as mac restrictions and ssid cloacking which are pretty useless against a skript kiddy.


Dude,WPA2 is enough in my mind...

Greg
0

#8 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 13 April 2011 - 10:50 AM

WPA2+AES is very good, if you wanna be paranoid then hide the SSID and use MAC filtering...
0

Page 1 of 1


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users