TSTT Forum: Blink goes down for the Night - TSTT Forum

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

Blink goes down for the Night Seriously no connection from 5pm to 5am

#1 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 09 June 2013 - 12:28 PM

Hello all, it's been a long time since I've been here...

I recently changed my modem to a 1511-A1 because a TSTT tech .came and said I had a faulty modem.
Everyday from 5pm to 5am the next day (for almost a year now) my internet goes,
sometimes you may be able to ping a outside IP but most of the time nothing...no Youtube, Bittorent...nothing!
Modem reboots, reconfig, firmware upgrade/downgrade, single computer/no router, etc... nothing helps.

Please note that this was the problem I had since the old modem, so the problem was never resolved.
When I call TSTT they say that it is working during th day so they cannot make a report

What to do...???
0

#2 User is offline   admin Icon

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 817
  • Joined: 28-July 03

Posted 11 June 2013 - 10:51 AM

View PostSkylined, on 09 June 2013 - 12:28 PM, said:

Hello all, it's been a long time since I've been here...

I recently changed my modem to a 1511-A1 because a TSTT tech .came and said I had a faulty modem.
Everyday from 5pm to 5am the next day (for almost a year now) my internet goes,
sometimes you may be able to ping a outside IP but most of the time nothing...no Youtube, Bittorent...nothing!
Modem reboots, reconfig, firmware upgrade/downgrade, single computer/no router, etc... nothing helps.

Please note that this was the problem I had since the old modem, so the problem was never resolved.
When I call TSTT they say that it is working during th day so they cannot make a report

What to do...???


Do you by chance have an alarm or other notification connection on the same line. Remember that somebody had the same problem some time ago and it was the alarm.
0

#3 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 26 June 2013 - 05:17 PM

View Postadmin, on 11 June 2013 - 10:51 AM, said:

Do you by chance have an alarm or other notification connection on the same line. Remember that somebody had the same problem some time ago and it was the alarm.


I remember the problem some time ago with the alarm system hooked up to the phone...
This is not an issue in my case, I've even disconnected everything else and hooked up a wired line from the modem to a notebook computer.
From the phone box (outside) I disconnected all extensions and ran one single line to a DSL filter that goes to my phone and modem.
I also tried many other DSL filters (and disconnecting the phone) but no luck, it just doesn't work in the night!

Current: Zhone 1511-A1-NA-0TT, Rev: C2
ADSL2+ 1 Port Modem/Bridge/Router (Broadcom)

Old: Zhone 6218-I2-200-0TT, Rev: A1
ADSL2+ 4 Port Wireless Modem/Bridge/Router (Broadcom)

WiFi Router: Cisco Linksys E4200 v2 (Firmware 2.0.37)
Network Connected Devices:
Sony Bravia KDL-60EX645 Smart TV (Wired)
Sony PlayStation 3 Game Console (Wired)
DirecTV HR22 HD DVR Set Top Box (Wired)
2 Desktop Computers (Wireless)
2 Notebook Computers (Wireless)
2 Android devices (Wireless)
0

#4 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 05:30 PM

After numerous calls night and day to TSTT during the week, I finally got a technician to visit me today...
He changed my phone jack and DSL filter and reset the modem and reconfigured it.

He also told me if the problem persists to call the helpdesk again!

---

27/06/2013
It is 5:29pm now, let see if it works into the night...
It is 6:36pm now, and it still works!
It is 7:11pm and Youtube doesn't work, also it takes ages for websites to load.

This is what I have in the Zhone modem log:
un 27 11:59:14 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 12:59:13 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 13:59:14 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 14:59:14 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 15:59:14 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 16:59:14 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 17:59:14 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 18:59:15 syslog info -- MARK --
No info at all, all the lights are lit on the modem and in the configuration it shows that it is connected.

It is 7:29pm and my connection only works for about 2-3 mins. then you have to power cycle the modem.
I called TSTT and they said that it is a priority so someone will check me out within 24hrs.
0

#5 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 28 June 2013 - 05:44 PM

28/06/2013

This is the system log since 9:16pm last night...
Jun 27 21:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 22:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 27 23:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 00:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 01:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 02:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 03:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 04:16:03 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 05:16:03 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 06:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 07:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 08:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 09:16:03 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 10:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 11:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 12:16:03 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 13:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 14:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 15:16:03 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 16:16:02 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 28 17:16:03 syslog info -- MARK --
There are no log entries of disconnects/reconnects and internet access still wasn't working till this morning.

It is 5:11am and it works perfectly, didn't have to reboot the modem...but when will it stop again!
It is 5:37pm...Since 11:00am I downloaded over 9.0Gb of Windows Pro 8.1 Preview ISOs so it worked perfectly today.
It is 6:47pm and Netflix is only buffering and connection is starting to go and come back...
It is 7:06pm and I took about 5 minutes just to post this last line...what to do, call them again?

I called them at 9:14pm and they would "escalate" the report and someone should call me in 24hrs.
My connection only works for about 2-3 mins. then you have to power cycle the modem.
0

#6 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 29 June 2013 - 05:46 PM

29/06/2013

Well again nobody called me concerning the resolution of my DSL problem.
I got up around 7:30am and it was working fine, watched Netflix, Amazon Instant Video and Revision3 on my Smart TV whole day until this evening (5:30pm)
Listening to Spotify right now, let's see how late can we go! - 6:49pm that's how late!

CALL THEM AGAIN? Didn't call them it's Saturday, will give them until tomorrow night...
0

#7 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 30 June 2013 - 11:08 AM

30/06/2013

Everything works fine as usual this morning, but I found a few strange entries in the log...

Jun 29 18:52:24 user warn kernel:
Jun 29 18:52:24 user warn kernel: ***wan up=1,data=1
Jun 29 19:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 29 20:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 29 21:25:29 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:25:51 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:27:29 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:27:50 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:28:02 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:28:26 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:30:38 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:30:58 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:35:45 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:36:05 user err kernel: xt_TCPMSS: bad length (41 bytes)
Jun 29 21:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 29 22:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 29 23:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 00:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 01:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 02:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 03:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 04:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 05:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 06:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 07:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 08:51:26 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 09:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 10:51:25 syslog info -- MARK --

at 12:00 noon a technician came, this was simply amazing being a Sunday (I must commend)
After I told him my problem he said he would send the report to "Cabling Department".
..
Same thing again, around 7:00pm, internet comes and goes for a 3-5 minutes.

Here is the rest of my system log for the day...
Jun 30 16:21:05 user warn kernel:
Jun 30 16:21:05 user warn kernel: ***wan up=1,data=1
Jun 30 17:19:38 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 18:19:39 syslog info -- MARK --
Jun 30 18:59:34 daemon crit syslog: Clear IP addresses. Connection DOWN.
Jun 30 18:59:34 daemon crit syslog: Clear IP addresses. PPP connection DOWN.
Jun 30 18:59:41 user info kernel: device atm0 left promiscuous mode
Jun 30 18:59:41 user info kernel: br0: port 2(atm0) entering disabled state
Jun 30 18:59:42 user warn kernel:
Jun 30 18:59:42 user warn kernel: ***wan up=0,data=0
Jun 30 18:59:44 daemon notice syslog: PPP: Start to connect ...
Jun 30 18:59:50 daemon crit syslog: PPP server detected.
Jun 30 18:59:52 daemon crit syslog: PPP session established.
Jun 30 19:00:05 daemon notice syslog: PPP: Start to connect ...
Jun 30 19:00:35 daemon crit syslog: PPP server detected.
Jun 30 19:00:41 daemon crit syslog: PPP session established.
Jun 30 19:00:44 daemon crit syslog: PPP LCP UP.
Jun 30 19:01:14 daemon err syslog: User name and password authentication failed.
Jun 30 19:01:23 daemon notice syslog: PPP: Start to connect ...
Jun 30 19:01:39 daemon crit syslog: PPP server detected.
Jun 30 19:01:41 daemon crit syslog: PPP session established.
Jun 30 19:01:54 daemon notice syslog: PPP: Start to connect ...
Jun 30 19:02:10 daemon crit syslog: PPP server detected.
Jun 30 19:02:12 daemon crit syslog: PPP session established.
Jun 30 19:02:15 daemon crit syslog: PPP LCP UP.
Jun 30 19:02:27 daemon crit syslog: Received valid IP address from server. Connection UP.
Jun 30 19:02:37 daemon warn syslog: Interface: ppp0 connection ok
Jun 30 19:02:40 user warn kernel:
Jun 30 19:02:40 user warn kernel: ***wan up=1,data=1
0

#8 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 01 July 2013 - 06:10 PM

01/07/2013

Internet works good this morning, setting up utorrent and leaving for the day, getting good speed...

Cable technician called me and after a nice long discussion he said it was the link from my home (pole) to the cabinet and he would check it.
He didn't call me back or come to my home, but it is 6:09 and it is working good but only getting about 200KB/sec (a little less than half my speed).

Same thing again at 7:23pm. internet comes and goes only for 2-3 minutes.
0

#9 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:49 PM

Some days has past, technicians came and ran test, changed the wiring, etc...
Up to today 7/7/2013 a Sunday they just left after changing the line outside to the pole.

Seems they are trying their best, waiting to see what happens...
0

#10 User is offline   ninja_55 Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: 19-November 07

Posted 12 July 2013 - 09:15 AM

View PostSkylined, on 07 July 2013 - 05:49 PM, said:

Some days has past, technicians came and ran test, changed the wiring, etc...
Up to today 7/7/2013 a Sunday they just left after changing the line outside to the pole.

Seems they are trying their best, waiting to see what happens...


Hmm sounds like an issue with the exchange but try this...go into Advance Set Up...ADSL and uncheck everything except G.DMT, Annex L and M..click save and apply then reboot router...monitor the service during the 5pm to 5am period and see if that helps.
0

#11 User is offline   greall Icon

  • Telecom Master
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,433
  • Joined: 28-July 05
  • Location:Bel Air,La Romain

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:26 AM

This was my issue for close to two months with the problem lying at the exchange cabinet.

The help centre can only escalate the report: the bureaucracy inside TSTT boggles the layman.
Greg
0

#12 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 05 November 2013 - 02:32 PM

Thanks for the advice greall and ninja_55, I will try it and see if these settings help.

Many technicians came, saw and went. Nothing was resolved, and when I call TSTT, it's a whole long time wasted sitting and explaining the situation all over again to the rep.
I've been a loyal customer with TSTT since phone first came out in my area, also an internet customer since dial-ip. But honestly I just stop trying.
My modem lists my Line Rate Downstream (Kbps) to 6432, so I am safe in saying I will not get any faster speeds that my 4MB package unless they build a exchange close to my home.

Flow just went live with digital in my area and I have neighbours who already got installed it it works great!
I just applied for a 25MB package, the tech. will be here on Monday to install, will let you guys know how it goes...

Here are the prices...
TSTT: 4MB for $345
FLOW: 25MB for $399
0

#13 User is offline   greall Icon

  • Telecom Master
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,433
  • Joined: 28-July 05
  • Location:Bel Air,La Romain

Posted 05 November 2013 - 06:11 PM

View PostSkylined, on 05 November 2013 - 02:32 PM, said:

Thanks for the advice greall and ninja_55, I will try it and see if these settings help.

Many technicians came, saw and went. Nothing was resolved, and when I call TSTT, it's a whole long time wasted sitting and explaining the situation all over again to the rep.
I've been a loyal customer with TSTT since phone first came out in my area, also an internet customer since dial-ip. But honestly I just stop trying.
My modem lists my Line Rate Downstream (Kbps) to 6432, so I am safe in saying I will not get any faster speeds that my 4MB package unless they build a exchange close to my home.

Flow just went live with digital in my area and I have neighbours who already got installed it it works great!
I just applied for a 25MB package, the tech. will be here on Monday to install, will let you guys know how it goes...

Here are the prices...
TSTT: 4MB for $345
FLOW: 25MB for $399



That's great news...

Greg
0

#14 User is offline   Skylined Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location:Penal, Trinidad
  • Interests:The Internet ;)

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:53 PM

View Postninja_55, on 12 July 2013 - 09:15 AM, said:

Hmm sounds like an issue with the exchange but try this...go into Advance Set Up...ADSL and uncheck everything except G.DMT, Annex L and M..click save and apply then reboot router...monitor the service during the 5pm to 5am period and see if that helps.


This helped very much, I can get about half my speed now in the night and watch netflix, youtube, etc...
If it was that simple, why didn't TSTT fix my problem so long now!

I'm still going with flow for the higher bandwidth

Thanks
0

#15 User is offline   ninja_55 Icon

  • Post Machine
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: 19-November 07

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:22 PM

View PostSkylined, on 07 November 2013 - 01:53 PM, said:

This helped very much, I can get about half my speed now in the night and watch netflix, youtube, etc...
If it was that simple, why didn't TSTT fix my problem so long now!

I'm still going with flow for the higher bandwidth

Thanks


No probs man..the amount of years I dealt with tstt and blink I ought to know their modem and technology inside out LOL. I suffered for years before flow came to my area as well. I had DSL 64kbps when they now started straight up to their blink packages but their infrastructure is way too outdated to handle the speeds and demand. They are now in the process of fiber roll out to compete with flow but still fall short. That trick I said in my earlier post is the mode used to communicate with the exchange. G.DMT yields a lower line rate but a more constant speed and stable connection. ADSL2+ is the ideal mode but you need a good line to maintain the line rate and connection, this is why you experienced so many drops because after 5pm is when it gets dark and yes believe it or not, a simple street light or rain affects that signal. I'm glad you switched to FLOW. You should be fine now, btw flow has upgraded their 5,15 and 25MB packages all by 5MB increments..so to save yourself some money you can reduce to the TURBO 15 for 299.99 and will get 20Mbps which to me is more than enough for anything HD but it's all up to you. Enjoy!

Regards,
ninja_55
0

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users