TSTT Forum: FLOW Router and linksys config - TSTT Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

FLOW Router and linksys config

#1 User is offline   evo3 Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 03-August 06

Posted 27 May 2007 - 04:37 PM

Hi this might be the wrong forum to ask this but has anyone tried to configure a wireless router with the FLOW box it seems to give a different IP every time I log on for eg. today is 190.6.231.115 and the gateway is 190.6.231.1 , has anyone configured one as yet?
0

#2 User is offline   ninja_billy Icon

  • Forum Jedi
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 07-March 07
  • Location:Trinidad

Posted 27 May 2007 - 08:03 PM

its a feature to stop from internet sharing, i think
0

#3 User is offline   srnoth Icon

  • Forum Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 577
  • Joined: 19-March 05
  • Location:Noel Trace, St. Augustine
  • Interests:Computers, music, electronics...

Posted 28 May 2007 - 05:16 PM

Nothing wrong with getting a different IP, your wireless router should compensate automatically. Flow seems to only give out static IPs if specifically requested (which is what I did). If you don't ask for one, they assign your IP address dynamically (DHCP), and it changes every couple days I think. If its not working with your wireless router, call flow and request a static IP.

Stephen.
0

#4 User is offline   evo3 Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 03-August 06

Posted 30 May 2007 - 12:04 PM

View Postsrnoth, on May 28 2007, 05:16 PM, said:

Nothing wrong with getting a different IP, your wireless router should compensate automatically. Flow seems to only give out static IPs if specifically requested (which is what I did). If you don't ask for one, they assign your IP address dynamically (DHCP), and it changes every couple days I think. If its not working with your wireless router, call flow and request a static IP.

Stephen.



Thanks I will try that
0

#5 User is offline   halo Icon

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 09-March 07

Posted 30 May 2007 - 01:09 PM

What is a Static IP?

Also is Flow trying to block people from downloading form torrents?
0

#6 User is offline   srnoth Icon

  • Forum Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 577
  • Joined: 19-March 05
  • Location:Noel Trace, St. Augustine
  • Interests:Computers, music, electronics...

Posted 31 May 2007 - 12:01 AM

A static IP is an IP address that does not change. Basically, normal internet connections get a new IP address every time they connect to the internet, which is given to you by the ISP. For high-speed, always on (Cable, DSL etc) connections, depending on the ISP's configuration, you may get a new IP every couple hours to every couple weeks. This is called a Dynamic IP address, because it changes dynamically. On the other hand, if you have a Static IP address, that is your IP address, and it remains the same as long as you pay for the ISP's service.

View Posthalo, on May 30 2007, 01:09 PM, said:

Also is Flow trying to block people from downloading form torrents?


Not as far as I can tell. I'm currently getting about 25Kbps download on a torrent while doing other things on the net at the same time.


Stephen.
0

#7 User is offline   halo Icon

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 09-March 07

Posted 31 May 2007 - 02:12 AM

I feel like an outsider having to wait for my post to be viewd by the moderators you know.

Why can't my post just be posted at once?

But anyways one important question
This Internet Digicel offers for your laptop, how much kbps is it? like 150k?

Also can I play online games like World of Warcraft with this Digicel Internet? will it lag?

And finally this Arcos submarine network flow has when is Flow going to be connected to it? and does that mean we will be getting atleast a 1MB connection for like $300 a month unlimited?
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users